Windows 10 Security

This post summarizes some tools, courses, certifications and hardening guides related to Windows 10.

As Windows 10 and 11 are very similar, this post applies to both operating systems.

Windows 10 Security Tools

There are different security tools and functionalities available for Windows 10:

  • General Security: Microsoft Defender for Endpoint, Windows Defender Security Center
  • Security Analysis: Microsoft Security Compliance Toolkit (SCT)
  • Antimalware: Windows Defender Antimalware, Windows Defender Exploit Guard, Windows Defender Advanced Threat Protection (ATP)
  • Antiphising: Windows Defender SmartScreen
  • Encryption: BitLocker
  • Firewall: Windows Defender Firewall
  • Apps: AppLocker, Windows Defender Application Control
  • Network: IPSec, DNSSEC, VPN
  • Credential protection: Windows Defender Credential Guard
  • Browser-based thread: Windows Defender Application Guard
  • Data Loss Prevention: Windows Information Protection
  • Group Policy
  • PKI
  • PowerShell
  • Virtualization
  • Update: Windows Update

Windows 10 Security Training

There are not many courses dedicated exclusively to Windows desktop security. Sometimes only part of more general Windows courses are referred:

Windows 10 Security Certifications

Certifications directly related to Windows Desktop Security:

More barely related certifications:

Windows 10 Hardening Guides

To find hardening guides, security baselines or standard for Windows 10, please read this post.


Windows 10 versions (in ascending order of cost/customization/functionalities):

  • Home
  • Professional (Pro)
  • Enterprise
  • Others (like Education, etc.)

Update Channels:

  • Windows Insider.
  • Semi annual (targeted), formerly as known current branch (CB). Devices are updated right after versions are validated from Windows Insider program. These updates can be postponed, though.
  • Semi annual, formerly known as Current Branch for Business (CBB). Devices are updated 4 months after versions are validated from Windows Insider program.┬áIt is technically similar to Semiannual (targeted), but with a delay.
  • LTSC, formerly known as Long Term Service Branch (LTSB): 10-year maintenance

If you need to ascertain your update channel, check this link.

Types of updates:

  • Quality Updates
  • Feature Updates

You might also be interested in…

External references


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *