ITIL Certifications

What is ITIL?

ITIL is a set of detailed practices for IT service management (ITSM) that focuses on aligning IT services with the needs of business.

ITIL was formed as an acronym for Information Technology Infrastructure Library, but it no longer corresponds to it.

There are different versions of ITIL practices. As this is being written, he latest version is ITIL 4.

ITIL is owned by AXELOS since 2013. AXELOS is a joint venture of the company Capita and Cabinet Office of the Government of United Kingdom.

Axelos designs the licensed examination institutes and training organizations,


Certifications under ITIL

There are different certifications offered within the ITIL 4 scheme, in order of expertise:

  1. Foundation
  2. ITIL 4 Managing Professional
  3. ITIL 4 Strategic Leader
  4. Master

Complete list of ITIL certifications


Examination institutes

Axelos grant licenses to examination institutes.

Some licensed examination institutes (non-exhaustive list):

  1. PeopleCert

  2. EXIN (only for ITIL v3)


Training Organizations

Axelos grant licenses to training organizations.

Licensed training organizations offers courses that may include exam taxes.

Examination institutes may offer information about licensed training partners near your area.


Training Material

Specialized companies offer training material for ITIL certifications.

Personally, I prepared ITIL 4 Foundation with Tecnofor.


ITIL Certification Exams

If you are doing a course from a training company, it may include the exam so you must check with them to know when it will be done.

If you are looking to do the exam on your own, you can check the training organizations listed before to see the available dates and price.

PeopleCert ITIL certification exams:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *