IT Management Certifications for Professionals

This post proposes a list of IT Management that can be achieved by individuals or professionals (and not organizations).

Project Management


There are different certifications related to Project Management Book of Knowledge (PMBOK).

These certificates are:

  • PMP
  • Certificate Associate in Project Management (CAPM)

Owned by PMI (Project Management Institution).

CAPM is an entry-level certification. It expires after 5 years, then it can be retaken.

CAPM official link

PMP official link


PRINCE2 stands for PRojects IN Controlled Environments.

Owned by AXELOS.

Official link


Owned by PM2 Alliance.

There are different levels.

Official link


IPMA stands for International Project Management Association

Official link

Software Development Paradigms and Models


Agile is a family of methodologies.

Scrum and Kanban are derived from Agile.

Different institutions grant certificates about Agile, for example:

Software Development Methodologies and Frameworks


Based on Agile.

Owned by Toyota.


Process framework for agile software development.

Official link


Newer than Scrum.

GEIT / IT Governance Framework

GEIT means Governance of Enterprise IT.


Formerly an acronym for Information Technology Infrastructure Library.

Owned by AXELOS.

Service Management Framework

The implementation of ITIL processes facilitates the implementation of controls for ISO/IEC 27002.

Official link

Post in this blog

CMMI stands for Capability Maturity Model Integration.


There was also a CMM (Capability Maturity Model), but it was largely supersed by CMMI. The major difference between these two is that CMM focuses on isolated processes, whereas CMMi focuses on the integration among those processes.

CMMI establish 5 maturity stages on processes:

  1. Initial
  2. Managed (“repeatble” in CMM)
  3. Defined
  4. Quantitatively managed (“managed” in CMM)
  5. Optimized

CMMI is used on GAP analysis, to identify the current state and the objective state.

The implementation of CMMI processes facilitates the implementation of controls for ISO/IEC 27002.

There are various certification levels for CMMI practitioners:

There is a CMMC, for Cybersercuty Capability Maturity Model.

Owned by ISACA.


Name: IT Management and Governance Framework.

Acronym: COBIT

Type: certificate

Official link

COBIT approach to risk management can help to implement ISO/IEC 27001.

In addition to the framework, ISACA issue some certificate related to it. As certificates, they are for life.


Name: Certified in the Governance of Enterprise IT

Acronym: CGEIT

Issuer: ISACA

Type: certification

Official link

It is not a framework, and it is exclusively a certification. As a certification, it needs to be maintained under the CPE program.

CGEIT is framework agnostic.

IT Security

Please check this post.

IT Management Practices

Lean IT

Developed by Toyota.

Owned by LeanIT Association.

Official link

Six Sigma

Owned by the Six Sigma Council.

Official link

Service Desk Certification

Owned by SDI (Service Desk Institute)

Official link

IT Networks


Cisco Computer Networks Associate

Associate or entry-level Cisco networks certificate.


Cisco Computer Networks Professional

Professional-level Cisco networks certificate.


Please read this post.

Not yet classified

Global Information Assurance Certification

Certified Information Privacy Manager

Certified Fraud Examiner

IT Management Certification Bodies

This is a non-exhaustive list of IT certifications bodies:

  • BSI
  • PECB
  • SGS
  • BCI (Business Continuity Institute)
  • PMI
  • PCI
  • ISECOM (Institute for Security and Open Methodologies)
  • GIAC
  • ISC2
  • EC-Council
  • OffSec (Offensive Security)

You might also be interested in…

One comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *